

Nottinghamshire Law Society AGM 2023



THE NOTTINGHAMSHIRE LAW SOCIETY



On Tuesday 9th May 2023, Nottinghamshire Law Society hosted the Annual General Meeting in the Old Chemistry Theatre, Newton & Arkwright Building, Nottingham Trent University, welcoming members, Council members and guests for presentations of prizes and charity donations. The AGM was chaired by President, Janine McKinney, the 7th female president since 1875.



















Janine McKinney

President 2022-2023

The Executive Board 2022-2023





Philip Turton Past President

Stephen Luke Vice President

Lauren Crow Deputy Vice President

Jeremy Allen Honorary Treasurer

Kathryn Meir Honorary Secretary

Michelle Foster Head of Operations

Treasurer's Report – Jeremy Allen





President's Outgoing Report





The Presentations







President's Cup 2022



President Janine McKinney presents the President Cup to winner Davina Kahlon, from Eversheds Sutherland & certificate to finalist Jade Bradley from MJC Law.



President Cup 2022 Winner – Davina Kahlon

President Cup 2022 Finalist - Jade Bradley

Kevin De Silva Memorial Legal Article Competition 2022





President Janine McKinney presents a certificate to one of the three finalists of the Kevin De Silva Legal Article Competition, held in November 2022.

Finalist, Yoana Spasova from Nottingham City Council, submitted an article titled "How far is too far? – Overview on the SRA's increased fining powers".

2022 Winner, Eleanor Harrison from Freeths LLP and second finalist, Charlotte Hajduk from Geldards LLP, were unable to attend the AGM but, were recognised for their contribution to the Society's competition.

Hammond Cup 2023

Presentations made to the Hammond Cup 2023 Advocacy finalists & winner.



Hammond Cup Finalist 2023 – Aleena Kazmi, Freeths LLP







Hammond Cup 2023



Hammond Cup Finalist 2023 – Zoe Aindow, University of Law



Hammond Cup Winner 2023 – Emily Millard, University of Law



SHIRE STAR

John Pearce Charity Presentation 2022



The winners of the John Pearce Charity Quiz in 2022 were the 'Scrambled Eggheads' from Nottinghamshire County Council.

As part of the winning team, not only do they set the questions for the 2023 quiz, they choose the charity.

This year, the nominated charity was WaterAid.

President Janine McKinney presents a cheque for £1,100.00 to David Williams & Richard Connell, members of the team.

John Pearce Cup Presentation 2023





John Pearce 2023 winning team, The Bootleg Mark Chapmen from VHS Fletchers are presented with the John Pearce Trophy.

Quiz Members: Freddie Sail Jon Hullis Jim Buckley

President's Charity Presentation 2022



At the beginning of the presidential year, Janine McKinney nominated the Nottinghamshire based charity, IMARA as the President's Charity.

During the year, through various fundraisers and ultimately the Annual Awards Dinner, the Society were pleased to present a cheque to CEO, Cath Wakeman OBE to the value of \$8,760.00.

Cath Wakeman OBE, spoke on behalf of the charity, thanking everyone for their contribution.

Nottingham Legal Walk 2022



For the second year running, Nottingham Law Centre were congratulated for being the highest fundraising team at the 2022 Nottingham Legal Walk.

They successfully raised £1,125.00 for the Access to Justice Foundation.

President Janine McKinney, presented Sally Denton and Bonita Gogia, with chocolates and prosecco to celebrate!

Sporting Achievements 2022-2023





Members of the Society's Cricket team, were thanked for their sporting success.

In the summer of 2022, they managed to score a hat-trick of three trophy wins:

- Wheelhouse Cup
- Radford Cup
- Battle of the A52 Shield

Vikky Lai - Grant Benskin – Wesley Walton – John Hooper – Martin Foulds – Janine McKinney

Sporting Achievements 2022-2023



Francis Reeson Squash Tournament Trophy

For the second year running, Grant Benskin, from Rotheras has won the Francis Reeson Squash Trophy.

The tournament was held in February and held at the Park Squash Club. In the final with Grant, was Kassra Powles, who is also captain to the Society's Cricket Team.

President Janine McKinney presents Grant Benskin with the trophy.



The Handover







President's Address – Stephen Luke





Past President's Jewel Presentation





SHIRE J. 18 SHIR

New Vice President – Lauren Crow



Lauren Crow, from MJC Law takes on the role of Deputy Vice President.

Lauren is an active member of the Society's Council, acting as Co-Chair of the Equality & Diversity Committee.





Marie Dancer Nottinghamshire Law Society Deputy Vice President 2023-2024

The Executive Board 2023-2024



Janine McKinney Past President



Lauren Crow Vice President

Marie Dancer Deputy Vice President

Jeremy Allen Honorary Treasurer

Kathryn Meir Honorary Secretary

Michelle Foster Head of Operations



Members of the Executive Board 2023-2024

President: Stephen Luke

Vice President: Lauren Crow

Past President: Janine McKinney

Honorary Treasurer: Jeremy Allen

New Council Members





Aldijana Hoad, ABEC Legal Sole Practitioner Council Representative Steven Veitch, KCH Garden Square Family Bar Representative



Nottinghamshire Junior Lawyers Division















